Act of Kindness Today

God

 

It’s been a long time since I walked the morning market.  Hustle and bustle of sellers and buyers.  Fresh vegetables, fruits, trinkets, clothes, bags, dry food, canned food, coconut water, breakfast of sorts, you name it, we have it here in Malaysia.

This morning, I got up early and with my sister, Bel, we took a stroll and joined another sister of ours and my oldest niece and had breakfast.  My niece has her favourite stall that sells the freshest cakes and breads and persuaded to see and then I bought a butter cake home for my old folks.

Both my sister and my niece left but l and I sat at the coffeeshop and had our breakfast when a lady with a file came and asked for donation for a underprivileged centred which is in another state up north.  Usually, we reject such request because there are lots of syndicate involved.  However, today Bel decided that she will not question and just gave a small some. Then we asked the lady if she had breakfast and we wanted to buy her a cuppa.  She declined and thanked us for our kindness.

About 2 minutes later, an Indian gentleman approached our table and greeted us.  We know him as he has been selling lottery tickets for many years and he knows that I do not buy them.  Whenever we meet he would pass me but would greet me.  This morning, he asked how we were and that he has not seen me for a while.  We chatted and wanted to buy him a cuppa too but he declined gently and thanked us.  Then I decided that today I will buy from him since we happened to meet.

I  told Bel that 2 people rejected our offer for a cuppa but we contributed to their effort. That was the least we did.

It is somewhat a beautiful and fulfilling morning and the joy and satisfaction feeling inside of us gave us the sense of purpose that our life today is meaningful.  We are creatures of giving and sharing.  Being selfish is not in our system because you will feel dissatisfied and unhappy.  I do.

The rest of the morning after that we went about getting some soil and pots for our plants and Bel did another act of kindness when she asked the workers in the nursery if they wanted coconut water as they were having a quick bite to fill their hunger pangs while entertaining customers.  So we  did.

What a day it has been for us and I should say that our life bank account has some good deposits today.  I look forward to the rest of today and I want to enjoy every moment including writing this.

We received gifts from a good buddy of ours who went overseas just now and we are grateful because those gifts are blessings from above.

How has your day been today?  Celebrate the small happenings thank the Universe for today’s path and the stops we are going to make before the day ends.

Live every moment, and respond rightly to events that occur.  Be a magnet of positivity and greatness.

  • joie de vivre –

Leave a comment